Best Checking Accounts
A good checking account costs nothing to keep, never surprises you with an overdraft fee, and ideally pays you something on the balance you leave in it.
A checking account is the hub of your money, so the best one is the one that never costs you anything. As of October 17, 2026, all eight accounts we verified list $0 monthly fees, and the strongest picks also pay real interest: up to 1.75% APY on checking, against an FDIC national average of 0.07% for interest checking.
Terms as of October 17, 2026. Every APY, fee, overdraft rule and ATM claim on this page was checked against the bank’s own page or rate sheet on October 17, 2026, and every bank charter was confirmed active in FDIC BankFind the same day. APYs are variable and can change after you open an account. Bonus offers carry terms and deadlines. This page is general information, not financial advice. Some links on Money 8020 are affiliate or partner links; see our advertiser and affiliate disclosure.
Checking is for spending money. For the cash you want to grow, see best high-yield savings accounts and best money market accounts. For a national picture of balances, see savings account statistics for 2026.
Quick answer: which checking account is best?
- Best overall: nbkc Everything Account, 1.75% APY on all balances, $0 monthly fees.
- Best for ATM refunds: Axos Checking, up to 1.00% APY with any direct deposit and unlimited domestic ATM fee reimbursements.
- Best for Amex customers: American Express Rewards Checking, 1.00% APY plus Membership Rewards points on debit purchases.
- Best combo account: SoFi Checking and Savings, 0.50% on checking and 3.30% on savings with direct deposit.
- Best flat APY: Bask Interest Checking, 1.00% APY with no deposit rule.
- Best with branches: Capital One 360 Checking, no fees and no overdraft fees, plus branches and Cafés.
- Best overdraft safety net: Chime Checking, fee-free SpotMe up to $200 for eligible members.
- Best traditional bank: Fifth Third Momentum Checking, no monthly fee and Early Pay.
How we ranked these accounts
We ranked on five things, in this order:
- Fees: monthly, overdraft and minimum-balance fees, preferring $0 across the board.
- APY on checking, and how many hoops it takes to earn it.
- ATM access: fee-free network size and out-of-network refunds.
- Overdraft handling: no-fee coverage, grace periods or auto-decline.
- Access: branches, early paychecks and a linked savings option.
All account terms come from each bank’s own page, loaded October 17, 2026. FDIC charters were confirmed in BankFind. National-average context comes from the FDIC’s national rates and rate caps and the Federal Reserve’s Survey of Household Economics and Decisionmaking (SHED). We do not use aggregator roundups for any figure on this page.
Comparison table: checking accounts (October 17, 2026)
| Account | Checking APY | Monthly fee | Overdraft fee | ATM access | FDIC bank (cert) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| nbkc Everything Account | 1.75% (all balances) | $0 | Not stated | 90,000+; up to $12/mo refunds | nbkc bank (#35014) |
| Axos Checking | Up to 1.00% (with $1+ direct deposit; 0.00% base) | $0 | $0 | 95,000+; unlimited domestic refunds | Axos Bank (#35546) |
| American Express Rewards Checking | 1.00% | $0 | Not stated | 70,000+ Allpoint and MoneyPass | American Express National Bank (#27471) |
| SoFi Checking and Savings | 0.50% (savings 3.30% with direct deposit) | $0 | $0 | 55,000+ Allpoint | SoFi Bank, N.A. (#26881) |
| Bask Interest Checking | 1.00% | $0 | $0 | 55,000+ Allpoint | Texas Capital Bank (#34383) |
| Capital One 360 Checking | 0.10% | $0 | $0 | 70,000+ | Capital One, N.A. (#4297) |
| Chime Checking | Not advertised | $0 | $0 (SpotMe up to $200) | 47,000+ | Bancorp (#35444) or Stride (#4091) |
| Fifth Third Momentum Checking | Not advertised | $0 | Extra Time grace period | Fee-free network; $3.50 non-Fifth Third | Fifth Third Bank, N.A. (#6672) |
Sources: each bank’s checking page or rate sheet, checked October 17, 2026 (Bask rate and fee schedule effective September 23, 2026); FDIC BankFind for charters. “Not stated” means the bank’s page did not show the figure, so we do not assume one.
1. nbkc Everything Account: best overall checking APY
nbkc’s rates page lists a 1.75% APY (1.73% interest rate) on all balances, rates effective October 17, 2026, with a $0.01 minimum balance to obtain the APY and a $0 minimum opening deposit. Per nbkc, there are $0 monthly fees, 90,000+ ATMs, and up to $12 a month in out-of-network ATM fee refunds.
No direct-deposit or debit-swipe rules are attached to the rate, which is why it ranks first. On a $5,000 average balance, 1.75% APY works out to about $87.50 a year, versus about $3.50 at the FDIC’s 0.07% national average (our arithmetic). See the nbkc Everything Account review.
2. Axos Checking: best for ATM fee refunds
Per Axos, Axos Checking has no monthly maintenance, balance, opening or overdraft fees and offers unlimited domestic ATM fee reimbursements across 95,000+ ATMs. In any monthly cycle with at least $1 of qualifying direct deposits, the account earns a promotional 1.00% APY; otherwise the base rate is 0.00%. APY accurate as of October 17, 2026.
If you often use other banks’ ATMs, the unlimited refunds can be worth more than the interest. See the Axos Checking review.
3. American Express Rewards Checking: best for existing Amex customers
Per American Express, Rewards Checking pays 1.00% APY (accurate as of October 17, 2026) with no monthly fees, no fee to open and no minimum balance to earn interest. The debit card earns 1 Membership Rewards point per $2 of eligible purchases, and withdrawals are fee-free at 70,000+ Allpoint and MoneyPass ATMs.
The limit is eligibility: Amex currently accepts applications only from U.S. consumer Card Members (including additional Card Members) and existing Amex High Yield Savings or CD customers. If you qualify, it pairs a solid rate with points. See the American Express Rewards Checking review.
4. SoFi Checking and Savings: best checking and savings combo
Per SoFi on October 17, 2026, there are no account, overdraft, minimum balance or monthly fees. Checking pays 0.50% APY; savings pays 3.30% APY with eligible direct deposit or $5,000 in qualifying deposits every 31 days, and 0.80% otherwise. SoFi is advertising a $50 or $400 cash bonus with eligible direct deposit and a limited-time 0.90% savings APY boost for new members through December 31, 2026 (terms apply).
It is the best fit if you want your spending account and high-yield savings in one app. See the SoFi Checking and Savings review.
5. Bask Interest Checking: best flat APY with no deposit rule
Bask’s rate and fee schedule, effective September 23, 2026, lists Bask Interest Checking at 1.00% APY, with $0 monthly account, paid overdraft and NSF fees. Per Bask, there is no minimum balance requirement and the debit card works at 55,000+ surcharge-free Allpoint ATMs. Bask Bank is a division of Texas Capital Bank (FDIC #34383).
Pick Bask if you want a steady rate without routing your paycheck. See the Bask Interest Checking review.
6. Capital One 360 Checking: best with branches and Cafés
Per Capital One on October 17, 2026, 360 Checking has no monthly fees, no minimum balance to open or keep, and no overdraft fees, with 70,000+ fee-free Capital One, MoneyPass and Allpoint ATMs plus branches and Cafés. It pays a variable 0.10% APY on all balance tiers.
The APY is low, but this is the strongest no-fee account here if you still want to walk into a branch. See the Capital One 360 Checking review.
7. Chime Checking: best for overdraft protection
Per Chime on October 17, 2026, Chime Checking has no monthly service fees, no minimum balance fees and no overdraft fees. Members with $200+ in monthly qualifying direct deposits can use SpotMe to overdraw with no fee, starting at $20 and rising to $200 or more. Chime lists 47,000+ fee-free ATMs and paychecks up to two days early. Chime is a financial technology company, not a bank; accounts are held at The Bancorp Bank, N.A. or Stride Bank, N.A.
Chime’s checking page does not advertise interest on checking, so it ranks below the interest-paying picks. See the Chime Checking review.
8. Fifth Third Momentum Checking: best branch bank with no monthly fee
Per Fifth Third on October 17, 2026, Momentum Checking has no monthly fee, no minimum balance and no minimum deposit (fund within 90 days). Early Pay posts eligible direct deposits up to two days early, and Extra Time gives you until midnight ET the next business day to cover an overdraft. Non-Fifth Third ATM transactions cost $3.50.
It suits people in Fifth Third’s footprint who want a traditional branch relationship. See the Fifth Third Momentum Checking review.
What the national data says about checking
- Interest checking pays almost nothing on average. The FDIC’s national rate for interest checking was 0.07% as of September 21, 2026, versus 0.37% for savings.
- Overdraft fees still hit 1 in 8 banked adults. In the Fed’s SHED survey for 2025, 12% of adults with a bank account said they paid an overdraft fee in the prior 12 months.
- About 6% of adults are unbanked. The same survey found 6% of adults had no checking, savings or money market account in 2025, a rate unchanged since 2021.
Deposits at each bank on this list are FDIC-insured up to $250,000 per depositor, per insured bank, per ownership category.
How to pick the right checking account
- Start with fees. Every account here shows $0 monthly fees; skip any account that charges one.
- Decide if interest matters. If you keep a large checking balance, nbkc, Axos, American Express or Bask pay 1.00% to 1.75%.
- Match the overdraft safety net to your cash flow. Chime, SoFi and Capital One offer no-fee options with conditions.
- Check ATM habits. Axos refunds domestic ATM fees without a cap; nbkc refunds up to $12 a month.
- Move extra cash to savings. Even 1.75% trails the best high-yield savings accounts we track, so keep checking for spending.
Frequently asked questions
How did you verify these checking accounts?
We loaded each bank's own checking page or rate sheet on October 17, 2026 (nbkc, Axos, American Express, SoFi, Bask, Capital One, Chime and Fifth Third) and recorded the APY, monthly fee, overdraft terms, minimums and ATM access only where the page stated them. Every bank charter was checked as active in FDIC BankFind the same day. National-average context comes from the FDIC's national rates and the Federal Reserve's SHED survey. Rates and offers change, so confirm terms before you open an account.
Which checking account pays the most interest?
Of the accounts we checked on October 17, 2026, the nbkc Everything Account paid the highest checking APY with no conditions: 1.75% on all balances. Axos Checking paid up to 1.00% in months with at least $1 of qualifying direct deposits, while American Express Rewards Checking and Bask Interest Checking paid a flat 1.00%. For comparison, the FDIC's national average for interest checking was 0.07% as of September 21, 2026.
Which checking accounts have no overdraft fees?
Axos, SoFi, Capital One 360, Chime and Bask all state no overdraft fees on the pages we checked October 17, 2026 (Bask lists a $0 paid overdraft fee and $0 NSF fee). Chime's SpotMe and SoFi's overdraft coverage have direct-deposit requirements. The Federal Reserve's SHED survey found 12% of adults with a bank account paid an overdraft fee in the prior year.
Is my money safe in an online checking account?
Each account on this list is held at an FDIC-insured bank we confirmed in FDIC BankFind on October 17, 2026. Deposits are insured up to $250,000 per depositor, per insured bank, per ownership category. Chime is a financial technology company, not a bank; its accounts are held at The Bancorp Bank, N.A. or Stride Bank, N.A., and pass-through coverage applies when conditions are met.
Should I keep my savings in a checking account?
Usually not. Even the best checking APY on this list (1.75%) trails the top high-yield savings and money market rates we track. Keep a month or two of spending in checking and move the rest to a high-yield savings account. This is general information, not financial advice.
Do I need direct deposit to avoid fees?
Not for monthly fees on this list: all eight accounts showed $0 monthly fees on October 17, 2026. Direct deposit does unlock extras: the 1.00% APY at Axos, the 3.30% savings APY and bonus at SoFi, and SpotMe at Chime.